October 11, 2017

New report calculates cost of meeting basic family needs up $30,000 in Seattle

A Seattle family of four must bring in $75,000 annually to pay for basic housing, food, transportation and health and child care—an increase of 62 percent since 2006, based on a new report from the UW School of Social Work's Center for Women's Welfare.

October 10, 2017

SDRG study finds no link between asking youth about drugs and subsequent use

When it comes to asking pre-teens about alcohol, drug and tobacco use, a UW Social Development Research Group (SDRG)-led study finds no evidence that children will, as a consequence of being asked about it, use the substance in question.

October 3, 2017

MSW student Melinda Brockie injured in Las Vegas shooting

Today, Dean Eddie Uehara and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Tessa Evans-Campbell sent a letter to the School of Social Work community informing them that MSW student Melinda Brockie was injured in the Las Vegas shooting on Oct. 1.

September 25, 2017

Fall art exhibit highlights homelessness and the power of healing

The "Telling Our Stories: Art and Homelessness" exhibit opens Oct. 11 and runs until Dec. 15, 2017 at the UW School of Social Work First Floor Gallery, Monday thru Friday,  8 – 6 p.m. The art pieces speak to themes of hope, healing, reconnection and finding home.

September 20, 2017

New partnership creates innovative collaborate care model for people with mental illness

A groundbreaking partnership between the School of Social Work, UW Psychiatry, and the King County Behavioral Health and Recovery Division will work alongside consumers and provider organizations to create, implement, and test an innovative integrative model, which is widely seen as the future of health care for an especially difficult-to-treat population.