October 31, 2016

Partners for Our Children develops technology to reduce ponderous paperwork

Partners for Our Children, a group out of the UW's School of Social Work, is trying to solve the problem of Washington state child welfare workers overwhelmed by ponderous paperwork.

October 25, 2016

Art of Transformation explores trauma and healing among prostitution survivors

The Art of Transformation is a select body of work that represents three years of art created by Organization for Prostitution Survivors participants. The exhibits features a range of visual works and poetic testimonies, reflecting the strength, individuality and collective force of women at OPS.

October 18, 2016

Nicole Vallestero Keenan named UW School of Social Work 2016 Early Career Achievement Award for workers’ rights and racial justice

Nicole Vallestero Keenan (MSW ’11) has received the UW School of Social Work’s Early Career Achievement Award for 2016. A social worker and champion of racially just, community-centered policy, Vallestero Keenan is executive director of the Fair Work Center, a hub for workers to better understand and exercise their legal rights, improve their working conditions and connect with community resources.

October 18, 2016

Sue Eastgard receives UW School of Social Work 2016 Moya M. Duplica Distinguished Alumni Award for suicide-prevention leadership

Sue Eastgard (MSW ’88) is the 2016 Moya M. Duplica Distinguished Alumni Award recipient from the UW School of Social Work. Eastgard is co-founder of Forefront, a School-supported initiative that educates and empowers individuals and communities to improve mental health services and suicide-prevention policy.

October 6, 2016

POC spotlighted in story on Ballmer family investment in data-driven social change

Steve and Connie Ballmer got in on the ground floor of the technological revolution centered on the rise of the personal computer. Steve Ballmer joined Microsoft in 1980. He met Connie Snyder Ballmer when she joined the fledgling company, and they married in 1990. Steve Ballmer rose steadily at Microsoft, succeeding Gates as CEO from 2000 until his retirement in 2014.