October 25, 2022

The Mental Health Section of the American Public Health Association is awarding the 2022 Carl Taube Award for Lifetime Contributions to Mental Health Services Research to David T. Takeuchi, associate dean for faculty excellence at the UW School of Social Work.


The Carl Taube Committee that reviews nominations for this award shared a keen consensus that Takeuchi has been a pioneer in changing the field of mental health for Asian American populations. The Committee members acknowledged that Takeuchi has shown incredible dedication to the field of health services research and has made considerable scientific contributions to the fundamental knowledge base.


“Dr. Takeuchi’s work as the co-principal investigator on the National Latino and Asian American Study highlighted critical disparities in mental health care for Asian Americans and propelled the field forward,” said Jenna van Draanen, Ph.D., Awards Chair for the Mental Health Section of the American Public Health Association. She added that Takeuchi’s in-depth analyses of the immigrant paradox and his contributions to understanding the intergenerational changes that take place in immigrant groups have been groundbreaking and critical to advancing knowledge about migratory experiences.


“I was thrilled to learn that David Takeuchi is receiving the Carl Taube Award for his innovative research. This recognition is well-deserved, but more importantly, his work has had a profound and positive impact on both the Latino and Asian American communities,” said Edwina (Eddie) Uehara, professor and Balmer Endowed Dean of Social Work at the University of Washington.


Takeuchi is slated to give the Carl Taube Lecture, “We Need a Bigger Boat: Some Observations and Predictions for Research,” at the APHA conference in Boston, Mass., from 2:30 – 4:00 p.m. (ET) on November 7, 2022. The formal presentation of the award will occur during this session.


Carl Taube was honored in 1990 with an award in his name for his major role in promoting mental health services, policy research and mental health economics, and to recognize scholars who have made important lifetime contributions to public mental health.