Wednesday, January 25, 2017

On January 12, with uplifting chords from the Eckstein Middle School jazz band, the UW MLK Tribute—In Our Time: Be a Drum Major for Justice—recognized distinguished service of community members in the University of Washington six health science schools: dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, public health, medicine and social work.

This year the School of Social Work's Magnificent Seven Deans and Directors were recognized for their deep commitment to serving vulnerable communities as scholar-activists, who embrace and elevate diverse ideas, perspectives and experiences within the School community. The Magnificent Seven include Dean Eddie Uehara, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Emiko Tajima, Associate Dean for Research Karina Walters, Phd Program Director Susan Kemp, MSW Program Director Tessa Evans-Campbell, BASW Program Director Amelia Gavin, and Chief Officer of Community Engagement and Diversity Margaret Spearmon. (Pictured, left to right, is Amelia Gavin, Margaret Spearmon and Emiko Tajima.)

The annual event, sponsored by the UW Health Science Administration and the UW Medical Center, commemorates Martin Luther King Jr. and his legacy of strength, resilience and compassion that has become a worldwide touchstone of civic responsibility and action.