From a distinguished slate of faculty nominees, our students recently selected their choice for teacher and mentor awards. The 2018 BASW Students’ Choice Teaching Award goes to Teddy McGlynn-Wright (pictured, left). Teddy, who recently joined our School as a teaching associate, previously worked at Seattle's Office for Civil Rights, where he served as a strategic advisor to the City's Race and Social Justice Initiative.
The MSW Students’ Choice Teaching Award goes to William Vesneski. Bill joined the School in 2015 as a full-time lecturer. He teaches across the MSW curriculum as well as in the social welfare doctoral program, with a specialty on child welfare law and policy. Nancy Hooyman received the Lewayne D. Gilchrist School of Social Work PhD Mentor Award. Nancy, dean emeritus, holds the School’s first endowed professorship in gerontology, the Nancy R. Hooyman Professorship. She is also director of the PhD program. 
“We greatly value the extraordinary commitment of each of the faculty members who were nominated and we recognize the significant impact each has had on our students and our community,” said Tessa Evans-Campbell, associate professor and associate dean for academic affairs. 
Each of the three award recipients will be recognized at the School graduation celebration on June 7. But if you see Teddy, Bill or Nancy on campus before then, be sure to congratulate them for their outstanding achievements.