Monday, May 29, 2023

Congratulations to our 2023 teaching award winners, recently selected from a distinguished list of nominees. In a joint announcement, Eddie Uehara, professor and Endowed Dean in Social Work, and incoming Dean Mike Spencer cited the extraordinary commitment and far-reaching impact of the selectees as well as all those who were nominated.

The 2023 BASW Students’ Choice Teaching Award goes to Norma Timbang. Norma (MSW ’10), a School lecturer, is known for building effective working relationships with community activists and legislators and has worked on community campaigns around human rights and immigrant issues. In 2019, she was one of four awardees for the Acey Social Justice Feminist Award. She has received the MSW Students’ Choice Teaching Award in prior years.

The recipients of the 2023 MSW Students’ Choice Teaching Award are Rachel Barrett and Lara Okoloko. Rachel (MSW ’05) is a clinical instructor whose practice is committed to increasing children's access to quality mental health services in the communities in which they live, including their schools. She enjoys teaching and mentoring social workers new to the field and feels energized by their commitment and vision.

Lara (MSW ’05) is a School lecturer as well as a licensed clinical social worker currently practicing as a psychotherapist. She has been teaching practice classes at the School of Social Work since 2015. She also teaches continuing education courses for practicing social workers and provides supervision to associates working towards licensure, particularly those focused on family therapy for people with substance use disorders.

The recipients pictured, left to right, are: Norma Timbang (BASW program)
and Rachel Barrett and Lara Okoloko (MSW program).

We send a shout-out to all of our students who took the time to nominate faculty and articulate their thoughts on why these individuals deserved this recognition. Thank you all!

Please join us at the School of Social Work graduation celebration on June 8 at 7 p.m. as we celebrate these awardees and others in our social work community.